Job Hunting

My dear wife started grad school this week. She loves being in grad school, but is already getting rather stressed. Her professors warned her that the first year is an intense year intended to weed the wheat from the chaff, and she is discovering that they did not exaggerate. Additionally, the costs for grad school are higher than we expected. We had not considered the ancillary expenses, such as the new computer the department requires their grad students to purchase, and a host of other supplies.

Sadly, my current job cannot provide the support necessary to pay for the added expenses, particularly if we won’t be receiving Sara’s paycheck anymore. She deserves the opportunity to concentrate on her studies.

With that in mind, I’ve been forced to look for new employment. This is a frustrating development, as I absolutely love my job. I’m going to see if I can find a decent part time job which will allow me to keep the library job. But considering the woeful nature and wages of the vast majority of part-time work, I’m not holding my breath. I will probably have to quit this job in exchange for a better paying one. Curses!

The search has been taking a great deal of time. Until the job situation is settled, I will continue to spend little time on the blog. Figures that pretty much as soon as I establish the blog, other issues take priority. C’est la vive. Hopefully the job search will be short, and I’ll be able to get back to my regularly scheduled life. There is, after all, so much about which I want to comment!

One Response to “Job Hunting”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Best wishes to your wife with schooling and to you with employment dilemmas. Tell us the progess – Jennifer

Leave a Reply

