Moving Up in The World, One Small Step at a Time

Dear me. Weeks have passed without any blog entry. How could I have been so negligent? Many things have been happening, and I suppose I lost track of time.

A couple nice developments on the personal front. I got a promotion! As of Monday, I’m an assistant librarian. I get a fairly significant raise, but unfortunately no more hours. But it is a very nice step for me. As nice as the raise is, I’m more gratified by the validation I got from my co-workers. When this position became available, most of them went out of their way to encourage me to take it, expressing their appreciation for my efforts thus far. I get the impression that some also spoke up for me to management. No doubt, I’m honored to be shown such kindness by those for whom I have great respect!

I’ve had a promotion of a sense in my political efforts as well. Due to some conflicts with his previous choice, Rob asked me to be his campaign manager. I’m honored that he has such faith in me, despite my lack of experience (or perhaps it says more about the quality of the recruiting pool for liberal operatives than it does about me&helllip;). I accepted and am now diligently working to write content and design materials for his campaign, as well as to&helllip;well, do whatever it is that campaign managers do. Hopefully I’ll figure it out soon. And while I do want to succeed in the admittedly daunting challenge of helping a Democrat win an election in staunchly conservative Davis county and help build the liberal political network in Utah, I’m also looking at this as an opportunity to add some nice experience to my resume and to network among people I wouldn’t likely have access to otherwise.

No, neither are earth-shattering developments. But in my life, I gotta savor the small victories and modest progress.

I’ve a few pieces I’ll be posting soon, and will hopefully do a better job of keeping the fresh, scintillating content which the hundreds upon hundreds (okay, fine; ones upon ones) of you look forward to on this blog.

3 Responses to “Moving Up in The World, One Small Step at a Time”

  1. Thom Says:

    I think those are both very cool developments. Congratulations, you deserve them.

  2. Rob Miller Says:

    Maybe its because I believe in you Derek.

    Rob

  3. Julie Says:

    I don’t think I ever got around to congratulating you on these things…. so congratulations! You deserve these!

Leave a Reply

