A Chillingly Gray Day in September

For the benefit of all who may have heard and might be concerned, I was not at the library when the bomb exploded, and am fine.

For those who had not heard anything and am wondering what in the world I’m talking about, the library was damaged by a small pipe-bomb today.

(and for those of you who do not know me and do not care, sorry. This is going to be one of those boring, personal posts. Have a good day)

I worked my usual shift at the library this morning, going home at 1:00. When I got home, Rob Miller asked me to run an errand to Bountiful for him, and I agreed to do it. I was on my way home from that errand, driving along in SLC at about 3:15, when KCPW reported the breaking news that the library had exploded in the Main Library (where I work). My heart immediately leapt in my chest. When the reporter declared that the bomb had gone off on the third floor, I had to pull over. I work on the third floor.

My thoughts immediately went to my coworkers. Were they okay? I couldn’t think of anything else for a few moments. Fortunately it was reported that there were no injuries. The bomb was reportedly a small, homemade, pipe bomb, and the damage was minimal. I took a few minutes to let my heart stop fluttering before resuming my trip home.

It had already been a traumatic day for the third floor. We learned first thing this morning that a recent coworker, Jane, had just died of cancer. She had been diagnosed only a couple of months before, and the disease progressed precipitously. It cast a pall over the day for everyone. Jane was a very gentle, kind woman, and one not yet old. With chilling swiftness, she has now been taken from us.

This is the first time someone whom I know personally had died unexpectedly. I’ve experienced the demise of aged family members and an uncle stricken with aids for a dozen years or so. But those people had been on that path for some time. I had been expecting the news that they had finally moved on. But this coworker had appeared full of life in her own gentle way only a couple of months ago, and had shown no apparent signs of trouble up until the day she was diagnosed. It is a strange, troubling experience.

While it is troubling, and I was certainly saddened by the news of her tragic illness, I’m not sure I can say I’m saddened by her death. She may not have experienced the full three to six months predicted by her doctors, but that just means she was relieved of her suffering that much sooner.

All in all, the brooding, stormy day seems rather appropriate for the day. I just hope the evening is less eventful.

4 Responses to “A Chillingly Gray Day in September”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Glad to hear that you are safe, and your colleagues too. Sorry to hear about your coworker who just passed away. Hope your week calms down !

  2. cynthia Says:

    thank you for emailing me derek, i am so glad to hear that you are doing ok, minus the fact of the passing of a fellow librarian. i hope that you will feel comfort from both traumas. take care 🙂

  3. Rob Miller Says:

    I was on Antelope Island and had no idea. I’m glad everyone is physically okay.

    Sorry to hear about Jane.

    I just read the story online, and immediately went to your blog.

    I’ll talk to you tomorrow.

  4. Rob Miller Says:

    Something death has taught me is that love can break the bonds of time and space, just like God. God is love, and Jane is at peace.

Leave a Reply

