Listening to Chomsky

“Hi, Honey!” I boomed out as I walked through the door last Tuesday after my Elders Quorum Presidency meeting.

Shhh!” My wife admonished from the couch where she sat, wrapped in a blanket, a textbook on her lap. But she wasn’t reading. She was listening to the radio.

A few moments later, I heard a rather calm, quiet voice, and I realized why she was listening so intently. Noam Chomsky, noted linguist and social critic was being interviewed by Tom Ashbrook of NPR’s On Point program.

I can’t tell you how exciting that is to me. Not that I like to be “shhh”-ed, particularly before I get a hug. But I find it very thrilling that my wife is not generally interested in the latest sitcom or celebrity news. She’s as interested as I in keeping up with current events and voices on the topics of our day. She likes to her and evaluate voices in the news like Chomsky (whom we’ve both come to respect a great deal) for herself. We’ve developed our liberalism in tandem, but still independent of one another. We are eager to talk to one another about the news and share ideas and opinions.

When I hear about friends whose spouse’s just don’t care about politics or social issues, or who have viewpoints opposing one another, it makes me appreciate our situation that much more.

My wife is incredibly cool!

4 Responses to “Listening to Chomsky”

  1. Thom Says:

    I agree that your wife is incredibly cool, even if you had to rob the cradle to marry her. Of course, things may change, once she finished school and you both move “back” to Star Valley.

  2. Derek Staffanson Says:

    Are you kidding? She’d rather move out to your neck of the nation than move back to Star Valley. Besides, we’re gonna have to pay off the student loans from both of our educations. I’m not sure work as farmhands will cut it.
    😉

  3. Jenni Says:

    I feel the same way about my husband. Our interest in politics and trying to make the world a better place certainly adds a lot of interesting conversations and a sense of purpose to our marriage.

  4. cynthia Says:

    you guys are great! that is awesome that you both have a great interest in what is going on around you and you are willing to talk about it to each other. even though my husband and i have really different views points about certain things, we are getting better about how we express our views to each other in a non threatening way. it is important to have a political discussion with your spouse and letting them say their viewpoint is even better. you two are too cute!:)

Leave a Reply

