Student Rally for Darfur

The extent of my activism during my teen years was to pin a flag to my shirt in support of Gulf War I (as embarrassing as it is to admit it; fortunately, my understanding of world events, history, and political events has grown considerably since then, and my understanding of morality has matured). Considering my own lack of teen involvement and my current political engagement, I find it incredibly refreshing to see students and teens take an active interest in events larger than themselves and to actually try to make a difference in this world.

Solomon Awan and Hanna Saltzman are two such students. They have taken it upon themselves to take a stand against the genocide in Darfur, and are hosting a rally at Washington Square this Saturday (04/28/07) at 1:00 to raise awareness on the issue. Solomon is a student at Westminster College and refugee from Sudan. Hannah is a high-school student at Rowland Hall in Salt Lake City, and founder of a school chapter of Help Darfur Now. You can hear about their stories during this interview on KCPW’s Midday Metro.

The genocide in Darfur is perhaps the only current conflict of which I’m aware that I do believe may genuinely merit military intervention. Serious action of some sort is urgently required—people are dying every day. The administration has for months talked in stern tones about meeting this challenge. To this day, they have done nothing. As much as their machinations and blunders may have tied up our military, surely there is something the U.S. can do to help end the ongoing calamity. Stop in at the rally this Saturday, learn more about this horror, support these bright and optimistic youths, and see what you can do to make a difference.

One Response to “Student Rally for Darfur”

  1. jennifer Says:

    I was not able to attend this event but I am deeply troubled by the apparent apathy regarding Darfur. Recently I heard a number describing the average number of people killed per month in that region in the past 3 years or so – – the number was 10,000. I cannot quote a source but I find it credible and appalling.

Leave a Reply

