Romney Suspends Presidential Campaign

It appears that Mitt Romney has all but thrown in the towel on his presidential aspirations. His campaign never really gathered any steam, despite the copious amounts of personal money he put into the campaign. Was the anti-Mormon bias among much of the mainstream Christian world to strong to overcome? Or is it that he is courting a conservative base which has run out of gas and no longer dominates the Republican party? Regardless, I’m not the least bit bothered by his exit.

While I’m not in any way interested in examining the horserace or making predictions, I do think it has been fascinating watching the ups and downs of the overall primary campaign. Giuliani was strongly favored to win the nomination; now he’s out. McCain was dead in the water several months ago; now he’s virtually guaranteed to be the Republican candidate. Huckabee was a fringe candidate, then a frontrunner, then ignored. And the Democratic race has been virtually a toss-up between the two frontrunners from the get-go. I don’t seem to recall a primary season having been so unpredictable on either side, let alone both sides at once.

In parting, Romney took the time to release one more absurd statement.

If I fight on in my campaign, all the way to the convention, I would forestall the launch of a national campaign and make it more likely that Senator Clinton or Obama would win. And in this time of war, I simply cannot let my campaign, be a part of aiding a surrender to terror (AP).

Like the Cold-Warmongers of old, the Right persists in using blood and fear for political advantage. I wish that Romney understood that proactively promoting peace, is not a surrender to terror; on the contrary, it will undermine the roots of terrorism far more effectively than militarism ever could.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Romney Suspends Presidential Campaign”

  1. Thom Says:

    I tried to read the full text of his remarks, but I couldn’t stomach it. Really unfortunate stuff. It’s gonna be weeks, if not months, before I can look him in the eye at church. Maybe I’ll go to the Elders’ Quorum in the meantime, though I’m not sure exactly how I’m gonna explain that to people.

  2. Cindy Says:

    I was feeling a little bad for him and he was seeming more personable than anytime during his campaign, but then he goes and says a vote for the democrat equals a vote to surrender to the terrorists. The way conservatives use scare tactics to get the vote makes me sick. I am sad that he bowed out and basically handed the nomination to McCain while the democrats probably have such a long road ahead still. It will be embarrassingly hilarious if Utah still gives the majority of their vote to him in the general election through write-ins.
    Obama’08 YES WE CAN!

  3. Aaron Orgill Says:

    I feel the need to defend Romney on this. You are all totally right that we needed to think this over before we got into Iraq, and about the Republicans using scare tactics, but Romney’s actual words are more about the perception that Hillary and Obama’s plans are to pull out, damn the consequences. I voted for Obama primarily because I feel his potential upside is huge, but I do hope he will look at the needs of the Iraqi people and recent history (i.e. Vietnam) before he does anything too drastic.

Leave a Reply

